Factfile – Manang Marshyangdi Club

Team Name: Manang Marshyangdi Club

Nationality: Nepal

Founded In: 1982

Home Ground (AFC Cup): All Nepal Football Association Complex, Kathmandu

League: Nepal A-Division League (Top Division League)

Nickname: Manang

Head Coach: Chirring L. Gurung

Major Achievements: Nepal A-Division League Winners (1986, 1987, 1989, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2013-14, 2018-19), Sikkim Gold Cup (2018), Aaha! Gold Cup (2004, 2005, 2012, 2016, 2017), Bhutan King’s Cup (2017), Pokhara Cup (2012, 2013)

Current AFC Cup Squad:

Goalkeepers: Bishal Shrestha, Deep Karki, Ashok Baral

Defenders: Biraj Maharjan (Captain), Kamal Shrestha, Suraj Biswokarma, Devendra Tamang, Pravesh Dunwar, Azeez Saheed, Muhammed Asif

Midfielders: Anjan Bista, Sujal Shrestha, Bishal Rai, Heman Gurung, Prakash Budathoki, Shiva Shrestha, Abhishek Rijal

Forwards: Afeez Olawale Oladipe, Adelaja Somide Oluwaunmi, Bimal Rana

Brief History: Like Chennaiyin FC, this is Manang’s debut in the AFC Cup. They are also the first Nepali outfit to participate in the AFC Cup group stages. Founded in 1982, the side from Kathmandu qualified for the 2019 AFC Cup after securing the 2018-19 Nepal A-Division League, the country’s top-flight. Manang are one of the most successful clubs in Nepal with a record eight national league titles to their name. They have also won various cup competitions over the years, the latest being the prestigious Sikkim Gold Cup last year.

Manang have featured in other AFC club competitions in the past. They played in the qualifying round of the Asian Club Championships (now AFC Champions League) in 1988 while more recently featuring in the AFC President’s Cup in 2006 and 2014. The latter tournament was an annual international association football competition organized by AFC, targeted for the development of emerging football nations.

Manang lost their opening 2019 AFC Cup group game by a narrow 1-0 scoreline to Bangladesh’s Abahani Limited Dhaka in a home fixture on matchday 1.